Our Editorial Board

The American Migraine Foundation’s editorial board consists of passionate and knowledgeable headache specialists, neurologists and doctors leading the way in headache medicine research and treatments. Our members are dedicated to identifying new topics and research that would be of interest to the community. Their goal is to ensure the educational content we share is medically accurate and doctor-verified.

The doctors on the editorial board review and fact-check articles from our resource library before publication. The team is committed to helping those living with migraine and other headache diseases as well as educating their families and friends. Learn more about our members below.

About Our Editorial Board Members

Dr. Chia-Chun Chiang

Dr. Chia-Chun Chiang is a senior associate consultant and assistant professor of neurology at Mayo Clinic. She is also an assistant editor for the Headache Journal, the official publication of the American Headache Society.


Dr. Laine Green

Dr. Laine Green is a neurologist at Mayo Clinic in Arizona. He has previously worked as a headache specialist and assistant professor at the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and the Department of Neurology, respectively. He is also a member of the AMF’s editorial board.


Dr. Rashmi Halker-Singh

Dr. Rashmi Halker Singh is an associate professor of neurology at Mayo Clinic. She is the online and social media editor of the Headache Journal, the official publication of the American Headache Society. She is also a member of AMF’s editorial board.


Dr. Tesha Monteith

Dr. Teshamae Monteith is an associate professor of clinical neurology. She is currently serving as chief, director and chair with several committees within the Department of Neurology at the University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine.


Dr. Claire Sandoe

Dr. Claire Sandoe is a neurologist at the Women’s College Hospital Centre for Headache in Toronto, Canada. She is also the co-director of the University of Toronto Neurology Residency Program Early Mentorship Group.


Dr. Juliana VanderPluym

Dr. Juliana VanderPluym is an assistant professor and consultant in the Department of Neurology within the Division of Headache at the Mayo Clinic, Arizona. She is currently serving her second term as chair of the New Investigator and Trainee Special Interest Group of the American Headache Society.


Dr. Steven M. Baskin

Steven M. Baskin, Ph.D., is co-director of behavioral medicine services at The New England Institute for Neurology and Headache and is an attending psychologist at Greenwich Hospital of Yale-New Haven Health. He also has a private practice in clinical psychology and clinical neuropsychology. He is a medical psychologist at Crescent City Headache and Neurology and a current member of the board of directors of the Headache Cooperative of New England. In addition, is a past board member of the American Headache Society and a past Associate Editor of the journal Headache®.


Dr. Kaitlin Greene

Kaitlin Greene, MD, is a pediatric neurologist specializing in caring for children and adolescents with headache. She is the director of the Child and Adolescent Headache Program at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital at Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, OR, where she is an assistant professor in the Department of Pediatrics. She is an active member of the American Headache Society.


Dr. Serena Orr

Serena Orr, MD, MSc, FRCPC, FAHS, is a pediatric neurologist with a subspecialty in headache medicine and the director of the pediatric headache program at the Alberta Children’s Hospital in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. She has a strong interest in clinical research and is particularly interested in the acute treatment of migraine and the relationship between internalizing symptoms and migraine in children and adolescents.


Dr. Angeliki Vgontzas

Dr. Angeliki Vgontzas is a neurologist and instructor in the department of neurology and clinical director for outpatient general neurology at John R. Graham Headache Center, part of Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School. She has spent dedicated time in the research of migraine and pain since 2005. She is a member of the American Academy of Neurology, American Headache Society and International Headache Society.


Joshua Lai, MDDr. Joshua Lai

Dr. Joshua Lai is a headache specialist at Vancouver General Hospital. He is a member of the American Headache Society and has presented at international headache conferences, including the International Headache Academy, iHEAD meeting and International Headache Society meeting.


Dr. Alison Thaler

Dr. Alison Thaler is a neurologist at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City. Dr. Thaler’s interests are in stroke and headache clinical care and specifically in those disorders in which stroke and headache co-exist.  She is also passionate about medical education and has recently published her first book, The Only Neurology Book You’ll Ever Need, which is aimed at medical students, neurology residents, and anyone interested and involved in the care of patients with neurologic illness.

Dr. Ira Turner

Ira Turner, MD, is a board certified neurologist whose main areas of expertise include migraine and headache. With over 50 years of experience in the medical field, he is dedicated to sharing his extensive knowledge as a speaker for physician conferences, teleconferences and patient events. In addition to the American Migraine Foundation, he is also involved in the American Academy of Neurology, American Headache Society, International Headache Society, American Council for Headache Education and National Headache Foundation.